Skip to content

Getting ready for Larue 3 Gun

March 15, 2009

This is a video of the Monthly Rifle-Shotgun match at Rio Salado Sportsman’s Club.  This is a shotgun stage on Bay 3.

I’m shooting a Benelli M1 worked over by Benny Hill at Triangle Shooting Sports.  The ammo is Winchester AA Sporting Clays with 7 1/2 shot.   The shell caddies are Progressive Machine and Tool 4 rounders. I’m using an Improved Cylinder choke.

The stage starts with a Texas Star through the first window.  There are 2 USPSA poppers through the 2nd window.  Then I load 7 rounds off the caddies (4 and then 3).  The next shot is actually a tight double with a USPSA popper behind a full-sized popper.  You could just see about 1/3 of the USPSA popper if you were in the right spot.  I held at the seam between the two (the right edge of the full sized popper).  Then there are 2 USPSA poppers through a window and 4 odd shaped steel targets off the my right.

The wide swing at the end of the stage is me  making sure that I got the double as I had not seen the USPSA popper fall.

This is about as well as I can drive a shotgun.  The star went well with no make up shots and the support hand loads went cleanly. If only the rest of the match had gone as well!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Darby permalink
    March 25, 2009 3:28 pm

    Good luck this weekend mate, I will call on Sunday for a match report over a whiskey and a cigar !

  2. Mike Darby permalink
    March 31, 2009 1:25 pm

    Well done mate !! I knew you would kick ass………. shows you listen to my advice for….

    The greater good………. The greater good 🙂

  3. Mike Darby permalink
    April 12, 2009 3:58 am

    so are ya gonna tell us about La Rue on this blog thingy ??

Leave a Reply

