Skip to content

ACTS Match – Nov. 09 – Stage 2A

November 26, 2009

To get ready for Benning, I went down to Tucson for the monthly ACTS (American Confederation of Tactical Shooters) since it would give me a chance to run my rifle.   ACTS matches are definitely different and one thing that I like about the Tucson’s crew is their clever and challenging stage design.  They test a huge set of skills. You better be ready to shoot the rifle from both shoulders and from the various “tactical” prone positions.  They also add a lot of physical fitness challenges compared to your typical match.  This match was inspired by “This is Spinal Tap” hence the name of the stage.  The match also had an ammo limitation which meant could not be missing a lot.

I like to think of Stage 2 as the “Pigpen” (of Peanuts fame) stage.  It is a rifle only stage requiring that the shooter engage steel  and some paper targets at about 50 yards from various positions around the stairway and barricade.  The shooter must finish support shoulder on the last array which is why I transition to the left shoulder.

This is a somewhat long stage and you had to remember a lot.  And it sure does get dirty!  When that comp gets near the deck, it blew up a whole cloud of dust obscuring the targets.  Since I only had a limited allotment of ammo, I did not just start blazing away.  I just had to have the visual patience to wait until I could see the target.  Then I would rely on the strength of the position and the comp to shoot the 2nd shot as I could not see the target.

I believe that this was the 1st malfunction that this particular upper had ever had.  It is my primary JP upper which I won Ft. Benning with last year.  I was shooting reloads with Scharch brass and Hornady 55 grain FMJs.  The case stuck in the chamber and the next one tried to go into battery causing kind of a double feed.  You have got to practice malfunction clearance drills (which by the way is one of the best parts of Kyle Lamb or Bennie Cooley’s carbine classes).  This malfunction required that the mag be removed, the charging handle operated until the stuck case came out, the mag reinserted and the charging handle operated once again to charge the weapon.  Note how I switch magazines to keep from having to do a mag change later.  Also note how I flick the mag to clear it of as much dirt as possible before reinsertion. I believe the malf to be ammo related as Scharch cases are military surplus cases but I’ve changed out the extractor spring to be safe.

And finally there is now a good result for Google searches with Kelly Neal and Sex Farm!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karl K permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:49 am

    Kelly,

    Thank you for the awesome after match report and review. It’s great to have input like this so we can continue to strive to improve our AZ ACTS offerings in the future.

    Hopefully you’ll join us as time allows.

    Thanks,
    Karl

  2. Griff Clipson permalink
    February 17, 2010 7:47 pm

    Have you used the extractor d-rings?

    • kellyneal permalink*
      February 18, 2010 5:03 pm

      Yes, they work well. I don’t think that particular rifle had one though.

Leave a Reply

