Skip to content

Off to Ft. Benning

December 2, 2009

Well I am off to Ft. Benning to defend the Tactical Optics title.  The weather does not look to good which is probably an aid to me since I don’t mind getting muddy.  I am shooting mostly same equipment this year as last year (DSA and JP AR15 with Leupold 1.5-5X with circle dot reticle, CZ Tactical Sport 9mm customized by Angus at CZ Custom, and a Benelli M1 12 gauge customized by Triangle Shooting Sports).

I am shooting different ammo this year. I am shooting handloads with Hornady 55 grain VMAX (for short range courses) and Hornady 75 grain HPBT match bullets (for long range).  Both shoot VERY well in my Tac Optic upper and shoot close to the same zero.  The 55s shoot flatter but the 75s are a bit more wind resistant and definitely carry more energy to activate reactive steel targets.

One other difference is I will be using the CMMG 42 round magazine for my AR when I need more than 30 rounds.  My main magazine system are still some UK Mil steel surplus mags in a Safariland coupler.  I have been using these mags for about 5 years now. They are well traveled, having been to Colorado, California, New Mexico, Nevada, Virginia, Georgia, Texas, Missouri, Norway and Denmark!  Any titles that I won with an AR since 2004, they have won too!

I am planning on getting some good video from some of the ROs shooting on Thursday and my squad during the match.  So stay tuned.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kalani permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:12 pm

    Good luck, Kelly! Bring the Tac Optics title back home to AZ!

  2. Aati Suvanne permalink
    February 26, 2010 4:20 pm

    Hello!
    How did the cmmg 42 round magazines work? Is there something that needs to be done to get them to work?

    • kellyneal permalink*
      February 26, 2010 6:17 pm

      I am a big fan of the CMMG 42 rd. magazine. They seem to be reliable and they are pretty inexpensive. They appear to have excellent springs.

      I used one for most of the stages at Texas State Carbine with no hiccups.

Leave a Reply

