Skip to content

2010 Texas State Carbine Match

February 19, 2010

I’m off to Corpus Christi for the 2010 Texas State Carbine match this weekend.  This is a quick match with all 7 stages to be completed on Sunday.

When I last checked the website, they were approaching the competitor cutoff and it promises to be a fast a furious match.  I’m shooting Open for this match – a change from my usual Limited or Tac-Scope status.

For this match, my rifle is a JP & DSA AR-15 with an 18-inch barrel with a 1-in-8 twist, VTAC handguard and a Bennie Cooley comp.

Optics are Leupold 1.5-5X MR/T scope with CMR reticle in a JP mount, and a Leupold Deltapoint red dot sight.

My ammo is Hornady handloads:  75 grain HPBT and 55 grain VMAX.

My wife is making me use Twitter so I’ll let you know how things go.   Unless I’m not doing so hot – then I’ll probably just report on the merits of Texas style chicken fried steak.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Griff permalink
    February 23, 2010 5:30 pm

    so did you win?

  2. Griff Clipson permalink
    March 11, 2010 5:07 pm

    was supposed to head out to the carbine match they had last weekend, but the rain kept me under cover. I suppose it was at the same place.

Leave a Reply

