Skip to content

Texas State Carbine – Stage 7

February 23, 2010

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1Rz10GL0cA

Stage 7 was the longest range course of fire with 5 steel flasher targets at a little over 100 yards.  They had to be engaged from 5 different shooting areas for a total of 25 rounds.  Kurt schooled us all with the fastest run shooting irons!

Kurt chooses to shoot prone from the 1st shooting position whereas Jerry and I chose to shoot standing using the barricade as a rest.  Don’t be afraid to do things your own way!  Prone would seem slower but it did not work out that way. The second shooting position required that the shooter shoot through either one of the ports on the barricade, i.e sideways. We all choose prone and we all choose to roll the rifle to to the right.  Remember to hold off on the target on the magazine side.  In other words, I placed my reticle on the steel plate at about 2 o’clock. 

The last area was pretty straight forward.  Some of the mistakes that I saw were resting the barrel and not the handguard on the lip of the 1st barrel.   Some shooters also stuck their rifles way too deep in the ports.  Jerry and I both start to go to fast when we get prone, leading to some inexcusable misses.  

I also should have changed mags from the 2nd barricade to the last barricade.  I shot the rifle dry on the last shot from the last port.  I knew that I had better not have any misses from that port when I was shooting as I was about to run out of ammo.  Phew, that was a close one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

